Matt McCutchen's Web SiteMusic  (Top, My compositions, Recordings of others' music, Bottom).  Email me about this page.


Status: dormant, parts stale; 2005-2007 (supersedes any conflicting remarks left on this page; see the home page for definitions)

Here are music that I have composed and recordings of others' music that I have played.

My compositions [# Top]

Each composition has a MIDI file of the music, a synthesized WAV file (large), a score as PDF, and perhaps an explanation.

Notes about the synthesized WAV files: I made them with TiMidity++ using Freepats 20060219 patches (instrument sounds), so they should be fine to redistribute.  Unfortunately, in Go to the Place and Dream Chorale, some of the drums didn't seem to sound correctly.

Recordings of others' music [# Top]

I made these recordings with the Voice Rec application on my trusty Sony Clié PEG-NX60.  My playing is by no means perfect, but listening to it should still be enjoyable.

Note: The recordings are in IMA ADPCM format.  If you have trouble playing them, email me and I will be happy to convert them to a different format. Some of the recordings seem to have a lot of distortion.  If you have an idea of how to fix them, please email me; otherwise I might do them over.  When I play the recordings on Linux with sox, sox seems to introduce even more distortion, but it stops doing so if I tell it to reduce the volume with -v .01 and increase the volume of my speakers to compensate.

Note: On 2007.02.26, I removed my recordings of music by Dohnányi, Kabalevsky, and Olson because the original music might be subject to copyright.  On the other hand, I'm pretty sure the music by Bach and Grieg is in the public domain.

Bach's French Suite #5

DescriptionFileSizeModification time
1 Allemandebach-fs5-1.wav12652122005-08-03 16:07:26 +0000
2 Courantebach-fs5-2.wav8991322005-08-03 16:07:28 +0000
3 Sarabandebach-fs5-3.wav15570522005-08-03 16:07:32 +0000
4 Gavottebach-fs5-4.wav4460122005-08-03 16:07:34 +0000
5 Bourreebach-fs5-5.wav7603802005-08-03 16:12:10 +0000
6 Lourebach-fs5-6.wav7547482005-08-03 16:07:34 +0000
7 Giguebach-fs5-7.wav17116762005-08-03 16:07:36 +0000

Grieg's From Holberg's Time (piano version)

DescriptionFileSizeModification time
1 Preludefht-1.wav18826842006-04-29 19:15:28 +0000
2 Sarabandefht-2.wav14618202006-04-29 19:15:44 +0000
3 Gavottefht-3.wav23977562006-04-29 19:37:40 +0000
4 Airfht-4.wav30915162006-04-29 19:29:18 +0000
5 Rigaudonfht-5.wav24510042006-04-29 19:42:50 +0000

Matt McCutchen's Web SiteMusic  (Top, My compositions, Recordings of others' music, Bottom).  Email me about this page.
Modification time of this page's main source file: 2020-09-02 15:20:20 +0000
Except where otherwise noted, Matt McCutchen waives his copyright to the content of this site.  This site comes with absolutely no warranty.  Why?