rsync/rsync.git
11 years agoUpdated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:24:49 +0000 (22:24 -0800)]
Updated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.

11 years agoAvoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Avoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.

The I/O code can receive incremental file-list chunks during deletion,
and their OPT_EXTRA fields would get corrupted when file_extra_cnt is
incremented.

Instead of temporarily enabling uid_ndx to find out whether the user
owns a file, have make_file() set a flag for that purpose.

Applied with a few minor tweaks by Wayne.  Fixes bug 7936.

11 years agoSome minor variable and flag cleanup.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 05:50:36 +0000 (21:50 -0800)]
Some minor variable and flag cleanup.

11 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 00:58:14 +0000 (16:58 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

11 years agoInclude backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 19:16:49 +0000 (11:16 -0800)]
Include backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.

11 years agoSender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 05:32:15 +0000 (21:32 -0800)]
Sender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
when sending a sequence of zeros.

11 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

11 years agoFix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:00:30 +0000 (23:00 -0800)]
Fix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.

11 years agoImprove the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 01:16:32 +0000 (17:16 -0800)]
Improve the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.

11 years agoHave build farm always use included popt.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 16:00:31 +0000 (08:00 -0800)]
Have build farm always use included popt.

11 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

11 years agoAdded "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:42:27 +0000 (19:42 -0800)]
Added "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.

11 years agoDaemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 02:59:08 +0000 (18:59 -0800)]
Daemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
in hosts deny/allow config settings.

11 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 18:26:02 +0000 (10:26 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

11 years agoSeparate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 05:23:19 +0000 (21:23 -0800)]
Separate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.

11 years agoClarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:20:09 +0000 (18:20 -0800)]
Clarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.

11 years agoSome --inplace manpage enhancements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:16:49 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
Some --inplace manpage enhancements.

11 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:30:26 +0000 (17:30 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

11 years agoBe clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Be clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.

11 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

11 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

11 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

11 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

11 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

11 years agoSet NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 16:54:11 +0000 (08:54 -0800)]
Set NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Fixes bug 7109.

11 years agoFix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:48:07 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
Fix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.

11 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

11 years agoEnhance --chmod to allow octal values.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 05:38:23 +0000 (21:38 -0800)]
Enhance --chmod to allow octal values.

11 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 17:35:43 +0000 (09:35 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.

11 years agoA couple comment tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 20 Nov 2010 17:30:35 +0000 (09:30 -0800)]
A couple comment tweaks.

11 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 07:22:33 +0000 (23:22 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

11 years agoUse ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Use ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Fixes bug 7337.

11 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 15:14:18 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.

11 years agoAdd @group auth and overrides to "auth user" daemon config.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 15:05:43 +0000 (08:05 -0700)]
Add @group auth and overrides to "auth user" daemon config.

11 years agoSome quoting fixes/improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:41:46 +0000 (08:41 -0700)]
Some quoting fixes/improvements.

11 years agoIf we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:25:19 +0000 (08:25 -0700)]
If we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.

11 years agoFix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:09:20 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Fix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.

11 years agoUndo unintended mode-reference tweak.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 29 Aug 2010 01:02:22 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Undo unintended mode-reference tweak.

11 years agoFix description of how to force new prototype generation.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 14:44:17 +0000 (07:44 -0700)]
Fix description of how to force new prototype generation.

11 years agoMove time setting to syscall.c and add syscall fallback.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:24:37 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Move time setting to syscall.c and add syscall fallback.
See bug 5506 and bug 7621.

11 years agoMake case_N.h more generic.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:13:04 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
Make case_N.h more generic.

11 years agoAdd --omit-link-times and use CAN_SET_SYMLINK_TIMES less.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:50:05 +0000 (08:50 -0700)]
Add --omit-link-times and use CAN_SET_SYMLINK_TIMES less.

11 years agoMention need of wildcard support in make.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:27:20 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Mention need of wildcard support in make.
See bug 7625.

11 years agoRemove duplication for -x option.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 14:58:22 +0000 (07:58 -0700)]
Remove duplication for -x option.

11 years agoAdd some new dont-compress suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 21:41:53 +0000 (14:41 -0700)]
Add some new dont-compress suffixes.
As suggested in bug 6839.

11 years agoAvoid a crash with --append-verify when discarding the received data.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 21:25:48 +0000 (14:25 -0700)]
Avoid a crash with --append-verify when discarding the received data.
Fixes bug 6293.

11 years agoAvoid a non-writable-by-the-user file when copying xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 20:59:33 +0000 (13:59 -0700)]
Avoid a non-writable-by-the-user file when copying xattrs.
Fixes part of the problem in bug 5147.

11 years agoAvoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 18:26:21 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Avoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Fixes bug 4664.

12 years agoDon't mention bug fixes that are queued up for 3.0.8.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:57:28 +0000 (08:57 -0700)]
Don't mention bug fixes that are queued up for 3.0.8.

12 years agoRefer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:14:02 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Refer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.

12 years agoReplace another assert with a descriptive error.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 22:50:07 +0000 (15:50 -0700)]
Replace another assert with a descriptive error.

12 years agoI like braces when multiple lines are indented.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 18:26:45 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
I like braces when multiple lines are indented.

12 years agoOlder protocols should send 1-incremented dev numbers.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 18:20:16 +0000 (11:20 -0700)]
Older protocols should send 1-incremented dev numbers.

12 years agoMention more changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:59:30 +0000 (10:59 -0700)]
Mention more changes.

12 years agoMore manpage improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:52:04 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
More manpage improvements.

12 years agoMention more output changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:01:24 +0000 (10:01 -0700)]
Mention more output changes.

12 years agoManpage improvements for --stats, --human-readable, and --list-only.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:01:13 +0000 (10:01 -0700)]
Manpage improvements for --stats, --human-readable, and --list-only.

12 years agoOutput list-only sizes using any human-readable setting.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:00:29 +0000 (10:00 -0700)]
Output list-only sizes using any human-readable setting.

12 years agoFix accessors F_LENGTH() and F_MOD_NSEC().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 15:54:57 +0000 (08:54 -0700)]
Fix accessors F_LENGTH() and F_MOD_NSEC().

12 years agoClose the socket fds in the "post-xfer exec" process.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 17:49:43 +0000 (10:49 -0700)]
Close the socket fds in the "post-xfer exec" process.

12 years agoGet rid of some trailing whitespace.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 17:49:09 +0000 (10:49 -0700)]
Get rid of some trailing whitespace.

12 years agoFix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:47:00 +0000 (09:47 -0700)]
Fix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Fixes bug 7512.

12 years agoFix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:29:42 +0000 (09:29 -0700)]
Fix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).

12 years agoFix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Jun 2010 06:09:20 +0000 (23:09 -0700)]
Fix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).

12 years agoAvoid a double-increment of a file's st_dev value
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 17:57:02 +0000 (10:57 -0700)]
Avoid a double-increment of a file's st_dev value
while supporting older rsyncs that send dev == 0.

12 years agoMake sure our idev_find() hashtable use is right.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 16:18:04 +0000 (09:18 -0700)]
Make sure our idev_find() hashtable use is right.

12 years agoMake sure we never try to store a 0 key and tweak key64 init.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 16:17:27 +0000 (09:17 -0700)]
Make sure we never try to store a 0 key and tweak key64 init.

12 years agoTurn an assert into two more descriptive errors.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 15:52:59 +0000 (08:52 -0700)]
Turn an assert into two more descriptive errors.

12 years agoMention --debug=hlink's level limits.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 15:52:26 +0000 (08:52 -0700)]
Mention --debug=hlink's level limits.

12 years agoUpdate rrsync with the latest options.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 26 May 2010 18:24:00 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
Update rrsync with the latest options.

12 years agoMake an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 May 2010 00:05:07 +0000 (17:05 -0700)]
Make an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.

12 years agoMay as well use do_mkdir() directly these days.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 30 Apr 2010 19:58:17 +0000 (12:58 -0700)]
May as well use do_mkdir() directly these days.

12 years agoReject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 17:00:38 +0000 (10:00 -0700)]
Reject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).

Based on a patch by Matt, but further tweaked to deal with -q=foo.

Ultimately this should be upstreamed, but for now lets get this
functionality into rsync.

12 years agoMan page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:08:28 +0000 (01:08 -0400)]
Man page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.

12 years agoMinor restructuring/clarification to get_backup_name.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:03:32 +0000 (01:03 -0400)]
Minor restructuring/clarification to get_backup_name.
(Tweaked by Wayne to follow his preferred style.)

12 years agoIn "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:53:42 +0000 (00:53 -0400)]
In "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.

Rsync was showing the full destination path, which was confusing because
nothing is created at that path and was especially bogus in combination
with the source name of a solo file.

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=506830

12 years agoPoint out that the file_struct in log_delete is zero-initialized
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 10 Feb 2010 03:13:28 +0000 (22:13 -0500)]
Point out that the file_struct in log_delete is zero-initialized
because it is static.

It took me long enough to realize this that I think it is worth
documenting.

12 years agoRename configure.in to configure.ac, the current autoconf standard.
Matt McCutchen [Tue, 9 Feb 2010 01:45:39 +0000 (20:45 -0500)]
Rename configure.in to configure.ac, the current autoconf standard.

12 years agoFix erroneous "--fake-user" in the rsyncd.conf(5) man page.
Matt McCutchen [Mon, 8 Feb 2010 02:00:02 +0000 (21:00 -0500)]
Fix erroneous "--fake-user" in the rsyncd.conf(5) man page.

12 years agoDon't set the umask to 0 any more: it's ugly and pointless.
Matt McCutchen [Mon, 1 Feb 2010 18:29:39 +0000 (13:29 -0500)]
Don't set the umask to 0 any more: it's ugly and pointless.

12 years agoAmplify the man page description of --hard-links (see bug 3693), and
Matt McCutchen [Thu, 19 Nov 2009 05:18:23 +0000 (00:18 -0500)]
Amplify the man page description of --hard-links (see bug 3693), and
improve that of --inplace while I'm at it.

12 years agoDocument the "copy-some-dirlinks" trick in the man page.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 05:24:50 +0000 (01:24 -0400)]
Document the "copy-some-dirlinks" trick in the man page.

Originally explained at:

http://lists.samba.org/archive/rsync/2006-February/014838.html

12 years agoRemoving now-redundant path-size check from send_if_directory().
Wayne Davison [Wed, 31 Mar 2010 21:56:52 +0000 (14:56 -0700)]
Removing now-redundant path-size check from send_if_directory().

12 years agoFix a typo that Andrea Gelmini pointed out.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:06:45 +0000 (12:06 -0700)]
Fix a typo that Andrea Gelmini pointed out.

12 years agoGet rid of trailing whitespace.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:05:01 +0000 (12:05 -0700)]
Get rid of trailing whitespace.

12 years agoFix directory-length overflow bug (7057).
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 23:56:40 +0000 (16:56 -0700)]
Fix directory-length overflow bug (7057).

12 years agoHandle files that spring up while doing backup path checking.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 9 Mar 2010 19:56:54 +0000 (11:56 -0800)]
Handle files that spring up while doing backup path checking.

12 years agoWrite out the right compat_flags value into the batch file.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 17 Feb 2010 22:55:34 +0000 (14:55 -0800)]
Write out the right compat_flags value into the batch file.

12 years agoIf a module has no path setting, return an error.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Feb 2010 21:40:12 +0000 (13:40 -0800)]
If a module has no path setting, return an error.

12 years agoMention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Feb 2010 21:32:47 +0000 (13:32 -0800)]
Mention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.

12 years agoMore --timeout improvements, especially for the receiving side:
Wayne Davison [Sat, 2 Jan 2010 18:51:09 +0000 (10:51 -0800)]
More --timeout improvements, especially for the receiving side:
- The receiver now sends keep-alive messages to the generator
  when it is actively doing work and hasn't sent anything
  recently.  This ensures that the generator won't timeout
  if the receiver is working hard.
- The perform_io() code has improved keep-alive participation.
- Allow the sender to send some keep-alive messages, which
  ensures that if it is in a lull, it can probe the socket.

12 years agoDon't try to send MSG_ERROR_EXIT after a timeout.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 2 Jan 2010 17:14:19 +0000 (09:14 -0800)]
Don't try to send MSG_ERROR_EXIT after a timeout.

12 years agoAlways use lchmod() if it is available.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 22:10:38 +0000 (14:10 -0800)]
Always use lchmod() if it is available.

12 years agoMention 2010 in the main copyright.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 21:43:10 +0000 (13:43 -0800)]
Mention 2010 in the main copyright.

12 years agoAdding release info for 3.0.7 to the trunk.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 21:41:14 +0000 (13:41 -0800)]
Adding release info for 3.0.7 to the trunk.

12 years agoAllow any gcc to make use of __builtin_alloca for alloca.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 03:58:57 +0000 (19:58 -0800)]
Allow any gcc to make use of __builtin_alloca for alloca.

12 years agoConfigure check for -Wno-unused-parameter now tries to link too.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 03:57:47 +0000 (19:57 -0800)]
Configure check for -Wno-unused-parameter now tries to link too.

12 years agoChange naming of local patch-related branches and unify
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Dec 2009 20:48:15 +0000 (12:48 -0800)]
Change naming of local patch-related branches and unify
the git-status checking into a library.

12 years agoAdd understanding of RSYNC_PROTECT_ARGS environment var.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Dec 2009 20:02:52 +0000 (12:02 -0800)]
Add understanding of RSYNC_PROTECT_ARGS environment var.

12 years agoAllow "./configure --with-protect-args" to make -s the default.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 29 Dec 2009 20:08:41 +0000 (12:08 -0800)]
Allow "./configure --with-protect-args" to make -s the default.