rsync/rsync.git
10 years agoFactor out common logic of unchanged_attrs and itemize into report_ATTR master
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 26 Jun 2011 20:39:21 +0000 (16:39 -0400)]
Factor out common logic of unchanged_attrs and itemize into report_ATTR
functions.

10 years agoMan page: Move the description of --info=progress2 to a better place.
Matt McCutchen [Fri, 30 Apr 2010 21:30:43 +0000 (17:30 -0400)]
Man page: Move the description of --info=progress2 to a better place.

10 years agoPoint out that the file_struct in log_delete is zero-initialized because
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 10 Feb 2010 03:13:28 +0000 (22:13 -0500)]
Point out that the file_struct in log_delete is zero-initialized because
it is static.

It took me long enough to realize this that I think it is worth
documenting.

10 years agoFix reading side of fake-symlink bug 7109. origin/HEAD origin/master
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 20:42:30 +0000 (13:42 -0700)]
Fix reading side of fake-symlink bug 7109.

10 years agoMake daemon-exclude errors more error-like.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 19:44:26 +0000 (12:44 -0700)]
Make daemon-exclude errors more error-like.
Fixes bug 7765.

10 years agoCheck if sender file changed before allowing a remove.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 19:06:44 +0000 (12:06 -0700)]
Check if sender file changed before allowing a remove.
Fixes bug 7691.

10 years agoSet NO_SYMLINK_USER_XATTRS on linux. Fixes bug 7109.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 17:12:47 +0000 (10:12 -0700)]
Set NO_SYMLINK_USER_XATTRS on linux. Fixes bug 7109.

10 years agoOnly skip deletions on IOERR_GENERAL. Fixes bug 7809.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 20:04:46 +0000 (13:04 -0700)]
Only skip deletions on IOERR_GENERAL.  Fixes bug 7809.

10 years agoDon't force \(em in the manpages. Fixes bug 7941.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:53:10 +0000 (12:53 -0700)]
Don't force \(em in the manpages.  Fixes bug 7941.

10 years agoAdd a colon if a non-empty pre-xfer exec message follows.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:12:25 +0000 (12:12 -0700)]
Add a colon if a non-empty pre-xfer exec message follows.

10 years agoHandle EINTR when reading the pre-xfer exec message.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:08:18 +0000 (12:08 -0700)]
Handle EINTR when reading the pre-xfer exec message.

10 years agoSend error messages from pre-xfer exec script to the user.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 17:38:47 +0000 (10:38 -0700)]
Send error messages from pre-xfer exec script to the user.

10 years agoLinux needs symlink xattrs. Fixes bug 8201.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 16:46:06 +0000 (09:46 -0700)]
Linux needs symlink xattrs.  Fixes bug 8201.

10 years agoWe need VA_COPY() defined more. Fix dangling #endif.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 19:48:04 +0000 (12:48 -0700)]
We need VA_COPY() defined more.  Fix dangling #endif.

10 years agoMerge latest samba version to get va_end() fixes, etc.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 17:24:57 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Merge latest samba version to get va_end() fixes, etc.

10 years agoFix unwritable directory issue due to misordered chmod call.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 15:24:27 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
Fix unwritable directory issue due to misordered chmod call.

10 years agoExpand NO_ENTRY items from fake-super ACLs in get_rsync_acl().
Wayne Davison [Wed, 25 May 2011 15:59:47 +0000 (08:59 -0700)]
Expand NO_ENTRY items from fake-super ACLs in get_rsync_acl().

10 years agoUse a union for idlist's name/max_id value. Fixes bug 8137.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 17 May 2011 01:24:34 +0000 (18:24 -0700)]
Use a union for idlist's name/max_id value.  Fixes bug 8137.

10 years agoExplicitly mention spaces in the "path" setting.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 May 2011 18:24:07 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
Explicitly mention spaces in the "path" setting.

10 years agoCheck for linux/falloc.h header file.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 May 2011 15:26:40 +0000 (08:26 -0700)]
Check for linux/falloc.h header file.

10 years agoAbort if the cd fails.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:58:11 +0000 (12:58 -0700)]
Abort if the cd fails.

10 years agoTurn empty remote args into dot dirs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:31:33 +0000 (12:31 -0700)]
Turn empty remote args into dot dirs.

10 years agoMake --files-from allow a missing trailing arg w/--server.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:16:12 +0000 (12:16 -0700)]
Make --files-from allow a missing trailing arg w/--server.

10 years agoMention the number of child args.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:11:33 +0000 (12:11 -0700)]
Mention the number of child args.

10 years agoDon't die if man-copy fails.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 01:50:21 +0000 (18:50 -0700)]
Don't die if man-copy fails.

10 years agoHandle non-srcdir man copying when yodl isn't installed.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 23:41:03 +0000 (16:41 -0700)]
Handle non-srcdir man copying when yodl isn't installed.

10 years agoAvoid adding a slash to path '/'.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 22:51:55 +0000 (15:51 -0700)]
Avoid adding a slash to path '/'.

10 years agoFix a potential crash when trying to find a better block match.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 18:31:29 +0000 (11:31 -0700)]
Fix a potential crash when trying to find a better block match.

10 years agoImprove lsh's handling of -l user option w/cd.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 9 Apr 2011 15:33:55 +0000 (08:33 -0700)]
Improve lsh's handling of -l user option w/cd.

10 years agoAdd some temp-name dot heuristics for OS X's sake.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 20:35:13 +0000 (13:35 -0700)]
Add some temp-name dot heuristics for OS X's sake.

 - Drop one leading '.' from the filename (before adding our own).
 - Drop one trailing '.' from a (possibly truncated) name prior to
   the .XXXXXX suffix being added.
 - Allow the temp-name to collapse to just the .XXXXXX suffix
   if the path is long enough to require that.

Note that we don't try to remove multiple dots from a filename
that actually has multiple consecutive dots, since we might as
well learn early if the final name is going to fail or not.

10 years agoApplying the preallocate patch.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 04:44:12 +0000 (21:44 -0700)]
Applying the preallocate patch.

10 years agoMove var declaration for older C compilers.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Apr 2011 01:02:45 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Move var declaration for older C compilers.

10 years agoAdding release info for 3.0.8 to the trunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:50:00 +0000 (14:50 -0700)]
Adding release info for 3.0.8 to the trunk.

10 years agoVerify the module list output of the daemon-via-ssh check.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 18:07:20 +0000 (11:07 -0700)]
Verify the module list output of the daemon-via-ssh check.

10 years agoTweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 17:17:14 +0000 (10:17 -0700)]
Tweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.

10 years agoAvoid re-setting (and sending) xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 16:59:14 +0000 (09:59 -0700)]
Avoid re-setting (and sending) xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Improved the xattrs testing to include hard-linking.

10 years agoEnhance the -liconv check for OS X. Fixes bug 8018.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:31:58 +0000 (19:31 -0700)]
Enhance the -liconv check for OS X.  Fixes bug 8018.

10 years agoGet the branch set right before listing names and handling --delete.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 23:34:37 +0000 (16:34 -0700)]
Get the branch set right before listing names and handling --delete.

10 years agoMake it possible to create a new patch file while on a patch branch.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 23:29:47 +0000 (16:29 -0700)]
Make it possible to create a new patch file while on a patch branch.

10 years agoDon't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 21:42:28 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Don't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Fixes bug 8020.

10 years agoFix xattrs test on OS X.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 03:42:58 +0000 (20:42 -0700)]
Fix xattrs test on OS X.

10 years agoImprove the &merge/&include example explanation.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 01:38:47 +0000 (17:38 -0800)]
Improve the &merge/&include example explanation.

10 years agoChange rsyncd.conf &merge directive to match *.inc.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 00:09:49 +0000 (16:09 -0800)]
Change rsyncd.conf &merge directive to match *.inc.
This allows the same rsyncd.d directory to be used for a set
of merge files (*.inc) and a set of include files (*.conf).

10 years agoSuggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 06:07:22 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Suggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.

10 years agoClarify what extraneous hard link are.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Feb 2011 15:19:23 +0000 (07:19 -0800)]
Clarify what extraneous hard link are.

10 years agoGet rid of obsolete tempfs warning.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 23:37:13 +0000 (15:37 -0800)]
Get rid of obsolete tempfs warning.

10 years agoSome uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1 and other large ID values.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 17:31:54 +0000 (09:31 -0800)]
Some uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1 and other large ID values.

The code now avoids any special internal meaning for uid/gid -1, which
allows it to be mapped to a better value (use 4294967295 instead of -1
as the ID to map).  Replaced atol() with something than can return a
value > 0x7FFFFFFF and that will error-out if the value overflows.  If
chown() is called with a uid or gid of -1, complain that the ID is not
settable and signal a transfer error.  Fixes bug 6936.

10 years agoAllow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:49:21 +0000 (08:49 -0800)]
Allow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
(If our POSIX types aren't valid, we can't handle the ACLs.)

10 years agoFix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:19:50 +0000 (08:19 -0800)]
Fix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.

10 years agoFix issue with devices-fake test.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:59:08 +0000 (07:59 -0800)]
Fix issue with devices-fake test.

10 years agoFix devices test on OS w/o hard-linked devices.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:39:10 +0000 (07:39 -0800)]
Fix devices test on OS w/o hard-linked devices.

10 years agoImprove some hard-link caveats in the manpage.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:29:00 +0000 (23:29 -0800)]
Improve some hard-link caveats in the manpage.

10 years agoAdd .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Feb 2011 06:07:20 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Add .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Fixes bug 7957.

10 years agoUpdated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:24:49 +0000 (22:24 -0800)]
Updated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.

10 years agoAvoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Avoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.

The I/O code can receive incremental file-list chunks during deletion,
and their OPT_EXTRA fields would get corrupted when file_extra_cnt is
incremented.

Instead of temporarily enabling uid_ndx to find out whether the user
owns a file, have make_file() set a flag for that purpose.

Applied with a few minor tweaks by Wayne.  Fixes bug 7936.

10 years agoSome minor variable and flag cleanup.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 05:50:36 +0000 (21:50 -0800)]
Some minor variable and flag cleanup.

10 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 00:58:14 +0000 (16:58 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

10 years agoInclude backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 19:16:49 +0000 (11:16 -0800)]
Include backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.

10 years agoSender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 05:32:15 +0000 (21:32 -0800)]
Sender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
when sending a sequence of zeros.

10 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

10 years agoFix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:00:30 +0000 (23:00 -0800)]
Fix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.

10 years agoImprove the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 01:16:32 +0000 (17:16 -0800)]
Improve the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.

10 years agoHave build farm always use included popt.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 16:00:31 +0000 (08:00 -0800)]
Have build farm always use included popt.

10 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

10 years agoAdded "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:42:27 +0000 (19:42 -0800)]
Added "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.

10 years agoDaemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 02:59:08 +0000 (18:59 -0800)]
Daemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
in hosts deny/allow config settings.

10 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 18:26:02 +0000 (10:26 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

10 years agoSeparate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 05:23:19 +0000 (21:23 -0800)]
Separate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.

10 years agoClarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:20:09 +0000 (18:20 -0800)]
Clarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.

10 years agoSome --inplace manpage enhancements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:16:49 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
Some --inplace manpage enhancements.

10 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:30:26 +0000 (17:30 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

10 years agoBe clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Be clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.

10 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

10 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

10 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

10 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

10 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

10 years agoSet NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 16:54:11 +0000 (08:54 -0800)]
Set NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Fixes bug 7109.

10 years agoFix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:48:07 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
Fix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.

10 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

10 years agoEnhance --chmod to allow octal values.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 05:38:23 +0000 (21:38 -0800)]
Enhance --chmod to allow octal values.

10 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 17:35:43 +0000 (09:35 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.

10 years agoA couple comment tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 20 Nov 2010 17:30:35 +0000 (09:30 -0800)]
A couple comment tweaks.

10 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 07:22:33 +0000 (23:22 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

10 years agoUse ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Use ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Fixes bug 7337.

10 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 15:14:18 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.

11 years agoAdd @group auth and overrides to "auth user" daemon config.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 15:05:43 +0000 (08:05 -0700)]
Add @group auth and overrides to "auth user" daemon config.

11 years agoSome quoting fixes/improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:41:46 +0000 (08:41 -0700)]
Some quoting fixes/improvements.

11 years agoIf we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:25:19 +0000 (08:25 -0700)]
If we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.

11 years agoFix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:09:20 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Fix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.

11 years agoUndo unintended mode-reference tweak.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 29 Aug 2010 01:02:22 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Undo unintended mode-reference tweak.

11 years agoFix description of how to force new prototype generation.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 14:44:17 +0000 (07:44 -0700)]
Fix description of how to force new prototype generation.

11 years agoMove time setting to syscall.c and add syscall fallback.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:24:37 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Move time setting to syscall.c and add syscall fallback.
See bug 5506 and bug 7621.

11 years agoMake case_N.h more generic.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:13:04 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
Make case_N.h more generic.

11 years agoAdd --omit-link-times and use CAN_SET_SYMLINK_TIMES less.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:50:05 +0000 (08:50 -0700)]
Add --omit-link-times and use CAN_SET_SYMLINK_TIMES less.

11 years agoMention need of wildcard support in make.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:27:20 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Mention need of wildcard support in make.
See bug 7625.

11 years agoRemove duplication for -x option.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 14:58:22 +0000 (07:58 -0700)]
Remove duplication for -x option.

11 years agoAdd some new dont-compress suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 21:41:53 +0000 (14:41 -0700)]
Add some new dont-compress suffixes.
As suggested in bug 6839.

11 years agoAvoid a crash with --append-verify when discarding the received data.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 21:25:48 +0000 (14:25 -0700)]
Avoid a crash with --append-verify when discarding the received data.
Fixes bug 6293.

11 years agoAvoid a non-writable-by-the-user file when copying xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 20:59:33 +0000 (13:59 -0700)]
Avoid a non-writable-by-the-user file when copying xattrs.
Fixes part of the problem in bug 5147.